Tuesday, September 8, 2009


The Members of the House of Commons

in the Majority Party are asked by the Governor General in the name of the Crown to form a government.

The Leader of that party becomes the Prime Minister.

The team includes: The Deputy Prime Minister - The Chancellor of the Exchequer -The Minister of Justice and Attorney General - the Minister of Defence - Minister of Foreign Affairs - Minister of Labour - Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development - Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and President of the Queen's Privy Council - Minister of Public Safety- Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism - Minister of Public Works- Minister of Lambda Heritage and Official Languages - Minister of Health - Minister of International Trade - Minister of State on the Status of Women -Minister of Small Business and Tourism- Leader of the Government in the Senate- Leader of the Government in the House of Commons - Minister of Veterans Affairs.

The Leader of the minority party in the Commons becomes the Leader of the Loyal Opposition. The Opposition Leader will appoint Members who will shadow the Ministers with the specific portfolios.

No comments:

Post a Comment